an exaltation of larks for string quartet (1992)

by Bruce Christian Bennett

I. Allegro con fuoco

II. Andante con sordino

III. Largo

IV. Finale

Download the score: an exaltation of larks

an exaltation of larks is an homage to guitarist Robert Fripp. The composition integrates many elements of rock music and includes a handful of quotations from music by Fripp and Frank Zappa. The first movement, Allegro con fuoco, is a short movement that features solos by the viola and the cello. The second movement is primarily melodically motivated; it also accelerates to the climax of the movement by means of a series of simple metric modulations (2:3) and then similarly decelerates. The third movement explores the idea of a tape loop, where in notes are gradually added to the loop to build up a complex texture. The Finale incorporates elements of the preceding movements and ends with violin cadenza and a rousing rock finish.

Movements I and III were also reworked for player piano in What's the diffèrance?

Performance History